Indian Polity MCQ Question Answer Paper Set 10

1)Which one of the following has a status different from the other three?

a) Finance Commission

b) Election Commission

c) Backward Class Commission

d) National Human Right Commission

ans: d

2)Which Amendment to the Constitution inserted a new Article 21A providing Right to Education in the Constitution?

a) 86th Amendment

b) 87th Amendment

c) 88th Amendment

d) 89th Amendment

ans: a

3) Which of the following Constitution Amendment Acts was said to be ‘Mini Constitution’?

a) 42nd

b) 44th

c) 46th

d) 50th

ans: a

4) Which of the following appointments is NOT made by the President of India ?

a) Speaker of the Lok Sabha

b) Chief Justice of India

c) Chief of Air Staff

d) Chief of Army

ans: a

5) Which of the following are among the Fundamental Duties as listed in the Constitution?

I. To preserve the heritage of our composite culture.

II. To abide by the Constitution.

III. To strive for excellence in scientific research to win international fame.

IV. To render national service when called upon to do so.

(a) I, II and III

(b) l and II

(c) I, II and IV

(d) II, III and IV

ans: c

6) Which one among the following pairs is no correctly matched?

(a) Power of the Parliament : Creating a new state

(b) Power of state legislature : Altering the name of the state

(c) Equality before law : Guaranteed to both Indian citizens and noncitizens

(d) Equality of opportunity : Guaranteed to only Indian citizens

Ans: (b)

7) Who is entitled to initiate a Bill for Constitutional Amendments?

(a) State Legislative Assemblies

(b) Lok Sabha only

(c) Either House of Parliament

(d) Rajya Sabha only

Ans: c

8) The decision of the Supreme Court in the Golakh Nath Case was that:

(a) Judiciary is independent of Parliament

(b) Fundamental Rights could not be amended or abridged

(c) the Constitution is supreme

(d) the basic structure of the Constitution should not be changed

Ans: (b)

9)Who among the following Indian Prime Ministers resigned before facing a vote of no-confidence in the Lok Sabha ?

a) Chandra Sekkhar

b) Morarji Desai

c) Chaudhary Charan Singh

d) V.P. Singh

ans: c

10) The resolution for removing the Vice-President of India can be moved in the :

a) Lok Sabha alone

b) Either House of Parliament

c) Joint sitting of Parliament

d) Rajya Sabha alone

ans: d

11) The Rajya Sabha is dissolved after –

a) Every five years

b) Every six years

c) On the advice of the Prime Minister

d) None of these

ans: d

12) The Indian Parliament consists of –

a) Lok Sabha only

b) Lok Sabha and Parliament

c) rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha

d) The President, Rajya sabha and Lok Sabha

ans: d

13) The Supreme Commander of India’s Defence Forces is

(a) Chief of Staff of the Indian Army

(b) President of India

(c) Prime Minister of India

(d) Defence Minister

Ans: (b)

14) Who among the following held office as President of India, for two consecutive terms?

(a) Dr S Radhakrishanan

(b) Dr Rajendra Prasad

(c) VV Giri

(d) Both (a) and (b)

Ans: (b)

15) A Constitutional Emergency declared by the President has to be approved by Union Parliament within

(a) 1 month

(b) 2 months

(c) 6 months

(d) 1 year

Ans: (b)

16) Under whom among the following was the first draft of the Constitution of India

prepared in October 1947 by the advisory branch of the office of the Constituent

Assembly? [IAS 2006]

(a) Dr. B.R. Ambedkar

(b) Jawaharlal Nehru

(c) K.M. Munshi

(d) B.N. Rau

Ans: (d)

17) The President of India by order constitutes a Finance Commission every –

a) Third Year

b) Fifth Year

c) Fifth Year or earlier as necessary

d) Seventh Year

ans: c

18) The distribution of finances between Centre and States is done on the recommendation of :

a) Finance Ministry

b) Finance Commission

c) Reserve Bank of India


ans: b

19) The recommendation of the Kelker Task Force relate to :

a) Trade

b) Banking

c) Foreign Investment

d) Taxes

ans: d

20) Which of the following is the extra-constitutional body ?

a) Union Public Service Commission

b) Finance Commission

c) Election Commission

d) Planning Commission

ans: d



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GkDownload.Com © 2016